Underneath the lights:First book (self-help)

 

Underneath the lights: Your journey to love and life.

 

For anybody that needs help on realizing who you really are, despite the hardships.

This book is for you.

All my Love,

Isabella

 

 

Contents

 

Chapter 1: Opening

Chapter 2: I have found that if you love life, life will love you back.

Chapter 3: Under loves heavy burden do I sink

Chapter 4: The best proof of love is trust

Chapter 5: Happiness is a journey not a destination

Chapter 6: Jealousy will drive you mad..

Chapter 7: Don’t you ever grow up

Chapter 8: Dreamers

Chapter 9: Wise

Chapter 10: Be the type of person you want to meet

Chapter 11: Never be complete

 

 

 

 

~

 

 

These pages are filled with quotes and pictures that I believed fit with each lesson I chose, I hope you enjoy each one I chose to explain each of my topics.

 

 

 

 

 

Opening

Chapter 1

 

One of my very optimistic thoughts at my young age of 15 continues to be the meandering and unfathomable things that make up the human life. I tend to be daydreaming about every complex situation in my life when I rather should be during what normal 15 year old girls do and go text or drool over a trivial boy. Don’t get me wrong, I tend to do these things too, but the non-stop fascination of life tends to take up more of my thinking time on a daily basis. I have begun to realize that every emotion and situation we go through in life is eyed- opening and breathtaking. Every stage we have in life is astounding and staggering in its own way. We need all these situations and lessons in life to bring out who we really are as a person, it can change us.

 

 

“Very little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within yourself, in your way of thinking”

-Marcus Aurelius

 

Stages and lessons we overcome are very important to being a human, because we all have them and even though they can be reluctant and unimportant to us at times, they really make us the people we are today. I think of these stages in life like a string of lights. If one of the lights on your strand burn out, soon the rest of them do as well, and even sometimes they all burn out at once. You need each light on your strand to be working for it too appears perfect, beautiful, and complete. This should be compared to your life. Each light on the strand is events and lessons in your life and they each contribute to the whole thing. If you let a difficulty get the best of you the light on your strand soon burns out over time and so does the rest of your strand. Accepting that these things happen to you keeps your strand appealing and eye-catching.

 

“Don’t get involved in partial problems, but always take flight to where there is a free view over the whole single great problem, even if the view is still not a clear one.”

-Ludwig Wittgenstein

Keeping yours beautiful, is something everything should strive for as a being. Trust me, life gets hard and it continues to get harder. But time heals all wounds, and anything you are struggling with is all a mental situation that is in your hands and that you control. After all, the things we think about the most is what controls us. Nobody has control over yourself like you do. Somebody can make you think about a situation, struggle, or a passion in a certain way, but it is you that decides what to do with this knowledge. I know what you’re expecting, what 15 year old’s writes about a book about life when they have no idea the struggle it is at all? Ha-ha I know, but it’s worth a shot right? Writing is a passion for me, because any piece of literature puts a new image and idea in your head. There are so many vast varieties of writing it is unbelievable. But I decide to give you just this. So think about your strand of lights, what has life done to damage yours?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I found that if you love life, life will love you back.

Chapter 2

 

The most intriguing question I have repeating over and over in my mind, seems to be the most controversial chapter in this book. What is life to you? Do you love life? Do you not put much thought into it? So the name of this chapter is none other than if you love life, it will love you back. Life is many compelling ideas, passions, sights, places; the list goes on and on. The moment I realized this, I spent every second I have enjoying everything around me.

 

“Whenever you feel lost, remember this: there are still over 7 billion people in the world left to meet. There are nearly two hundred beautiful countries for you to explore. There are so many new exiting foods you haven’t tried yet. There are so many beautiful adventures to be had. So, just hold on, because there are so many wonderful things coming your way”

-Anonymous

Enjoy when the sun rises and sets every single day in the most elegant way. Enjoy when it goes down, and you let the cool wind fly across your face as you look up at the stars and every amazing thing in the sky. Notice the crickets that chirp you to sleep and the humming birds that wake you up. Enjoy those cool fall days, when you enjoy apple cider and glazed doughnuts and go pick out a pumpkin from the patch, and carve it. Love the sights you see and the places you go, because this doesn’t last forever.

Go outside and enjoy the nature around you. Look at lovely autumn trees, blooming flowers, and the revealing truth of life around you. Take a walk and hear the crunch of branches and leaves beneath your feet and the captivating noises of life all around you. So take this and travel all around the world. Go watch a river slowly stream and polish rocks and feel it on your tip of your fingers. Go to places where it is tropical and exotic, and you can feel the sunshine on your skin. Go to places where it is cold and watch the refreshing snow fall to the palm of your hand and look at all the different snowflakes.

“You are the books you read, the films you watch, the music you listen to, and the people you meet, the dreams you have, the conversations you engage in. You are what you take from these. You are the sound of the ocean, the breath of fresh air, the brightest light and the darkest corner. You are a collective of every experience you have had in your life. You are every single day. So drown yourself in a sea of knowledge and existence. Let the words run through your veins and let the colors fill your mind.”

-Anonymous

 

 

Visit New York City when it is all lit up and the compelling source of people and light from booming business is surrounding you. Go to a place where you can enjoy and learn new things from all the diverse people around you. Learn a different language and travel to places where you can begin to speak it. I bet you will learn many new things from these people from these places, because they are different then you. Go tour around the world to places, leave the country. Take risks. Try the food you never thought you would and respect the abstract ways people make it from how you do. Life is a beautiful thing and no matter how many lists I can make from things to enjoy, the list will never be enough. The definition of the beauty of the world is in your hands, and only you decide what you find enchanting, and what you don’t.

 

 

Take chances. Go skydiving, climb a mountain, hike, ride the biggest roller-coaster that you dare to never come in contact with. Surround yourself with diverse places and people and begin to learn the way they perceive life and how they picture it in their eyes. The most important idea is just to accept the life living around you. The fascinating green grass, trees, plants, and animals. They are all living, just like you. They get a new shot at life every single day just like you do. There all living and breathing things and you should love them. They are surrounding you everywhere you go.

 

What I am telling you, is go and try new things, no matter what the risk may be. The best memories are created from chances that you took, and they were grand enough that they remained in your memory. I want each and every one of you to surround yourself with a life that you can laugh, love, and remember. I want each and every one of you to take a risk each and every day. This helps you build and grow; it also lets you find your inner self.

Finding yourself is amazing. This last year, I was a completely different person that I have ever been. I know this usually happens in life, when you finally realize your purpose for being here, and suddenly it’s like the world around you changes. It’s like it was a whole new me that never saw the light of day, because I was afraid what others would think about me. Trying new things, meeting new people, going to new places; this helps you find that inner light that I did. One day you have to wake up and look in the mirror, and say, this is me and nobody is stopping where I’m going to go in life. I’m going to explore and create myself every single day, and nobody will slow me down.

 

Recently, I have discovered that if I died today I would not be satisfied. If you feel the same way, I want you to begin to explore your likes and dislikes, meet new people, and travel more. Open your mind.

“There’s so much more to life than finding someone who will want you, or being sad over someone who doesn’t. There’s a lot of wonderful time to be spent discovering yourself without hoping will fall in love with you along the way, and it doesn’t need to be painful or empty. You need to fill yourself up with love. Not anyone else. Become a whole being on your own. Go on adventures, fall asleep in the woods with friends, wander around the city at night, sit in a coffee shop on your own, write on bathroom stalls, leave notes in library books, dress up for yourself, give to others, smile a lot. Do all things with love, but don’t romanticize life like you can’t survive without it. Live for yourself and be happy on your own. It isn’t any less beautiful, I promise.”

-Emery Allen

 

Life is surrounding you everywhere you go, and it should never be taken for granted. It’s charismatic and captivating to realize all the things we have and what we can explore in this life. So pick yourself up and explore. Explore around places, sites, sounds, that you realize you take for granted. Listen to a new genre of music, old music, or maybe even a vintage movie that shows life in a way that you haven’t. Expanding your horizon on the world is a magnificent thing. Understanding that seeing the world, in a way other than your own, is also a great thing. As you begin to see the world, I guarantee you will love it. Take this knowledge and realize that as soon as you love life, I promise it will love you back.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Under loves heavy burden

Do I sink?

Chapter 3

 

I know what you are thinking from the name of this chapter. What girl this age enjoys Shakespeare and quotes it, or let alone takes the time to understand it? That’s right I do! Actually, this quote is quite intriguing to me. Of course you may know, this quote is from no other than the most popular love story of all time. *cough Romeo and Juliet cough* I first had the pleasure of coming across this quoting when I watched Romeo and Juliet, and couldn’t seem to have it leave my mind.

What did under loves heavy burden do I sink mean? I soon began to realize that this quote fits in many people’s lives, just like mine. It means that this love is despised and that maybe the love is forbidden. The love is so heavy upon your heart, you feel as if you are sinking or drowning upon the thought of it. I have felt this before. If you have had this feeling before you know you have most likely had felt you needed somebody in your life even if it was a burden that felt like weights upon weights on top of your heart. Life is no other than this all through it. Yes, there will be people that come in and out of your life that you feel that are just what this quote is trying to explain. The most part nobody understands about this quote is that even though Juliet was a burden to Romeo, he still chose to be with her. Even though everybody warned him not to be with her, he still did. He loved her. This is an example that even if you feel as if your heart is sinking and diminishing from somebody, they might always be a part of you.

 

 

Last year, I experienced my first heartbreak. Not knowing how it felt at the time, but soon realizing I was crushed, damaged, and scared. I never had felt that way before. As weeks became months, months became years, I was still not over this person. Even though they were a burden to me, I still loved them with every part of me. I was mesmerized. There was this part of me that was incapable of letting go, and realizing, that what they did was broke me. These people can break you again, if they are given the power to do so again. The more power we give things, is a greater chance that it takes us over. But I still chose to love him, and forgive. He was a burden to my heart, but to me he was more than that. He was the one that I would’ve done anything for; I would’ve changed myself in any way he wanted me to because I truly loved him. But at the same time when my heart was saying yes, my mind was saying no.

 

“It just didn’t make sense at all, because the more I tried to forget you the more everything reminded me of you”

-r.m. drake

 

This is the choosing of who is so powerful in your heart that no matter what there is nothing that would stop you from being with them. This could also mean that even continuous hurting from this person would never change the way you thought about them and you still are find them alluring and captivating in your eyes. Love is a very tricky thing and you have to know what people in your life you will fight to have, and the ones you won’t. Loosing somebody isn’t always a bad thing. Burdens upon your heart can be terrible and prodigious all at the same time. So choose that one person you would fight to be in your life no matter what. Some people will forever be in out memory and we cannot control it. This leads us to believe, that maybe they are there for a reason. If you feel you cannot repair this love for whatever reason, maybe it is best to have them in some way in our lives. Whatever way you feel is best, I want you to have them in whatever way you think is right, even if that means in no way at all.

 

 

 

 

Sometimes, that person that hurt us should not be in our life anymore. Even if every inch of you want them, we know it will end up hurting us in the end.

 

 

“Before you say yes, get him angry. See him scared, see him waiting, and see him sick. Stress changes a person. Find out if he drinks and if he does, get him drunk- you’ll learn more about his sober thoughts. Discover his addictions. See if he puts you in front of them. You can’t change people, baby girl. If they are made one way, it doesn’t just wear off. If you hate he acts when he’s out of it now, you’re going to hate it eight years down the road. You might love him to bits but it doesn’t change that some people just don’t fit”

-Anonymous

 

 

You need to trust your heart. Sometimes our head and heart are both saying different things. If you know in your heart, that you will keep getting hurt over and over by this person, you need to let them go. If this person is getting the advantage to do this to you over and over, trust me they will. You are giving them to power to. Please choose wisely when making this decision.

 

 

 

 

 

“One day, weather you are

14, 28, or 65

You will stumble upon someone who will start a fire in you that cannot die.

However, the saddest, most awful truth that you will come to find—

Is they are not always whom we spend our lives with.”

-Anonymous

 

This quote will sure describe most any love you have. Love is something that is not always the same every time you try it. But love is the hardest obstacle you will ever have to face in your life. But it is also the most magical. So whoever you thought about as you read this either had or has a burden on your heart, and you chose who is worth fighting for. Overcoming this obstacle keeps that strand of lights I explained about in the beginning, all shining and beautiful; don’t let a broken heart burn yours out.

 

 

The best proof of love is trust

Chapter 4

 

Trust can easily be broken, bonded, or created. Trust is so intellectual. Trust is something very important we all need to let people in and out of our lives. Learning to do this could then again, be so very difficult. Knowing how to trust after you have been broken has been one of the worst contemplations I have ever experienced. Letting anybody in can already seem as difficult. People want to be understood on a level that not everyone can supply after their trust is broken. I know how people feel this way, how could you possibly trust somebody when almost everyone who has come along has promised something they have not kept. It will happen to you at some point in your life. Somebody will come along, an amazing lover or friend. They will treat you as if you were the most amazing thing on this earth, and they will leave you like you were the least in a heartbeat.

I want you to learn who you are and your standards for yourself. If you keep getting let down every time over and over, this is because you are allowing this to happen. If you remove those people from your life, you are creating a space for yourself that cannot be hurt anymore.

 

 

The bottom line is, you usually can’t always trust everyone with your heart like you thought. You have to keep the perfect balance of letting people in your mind and heart, but also keeping them out. The only thing that can never hurt this is after all, you. Possibly the best way to relive the pain is working on you as a person, and keeping everybody out for a while. Building yourself is the best way to help with this.

 

 

 

 

 

“I have given my heart to people who only wanted my body. I have given my love to people who are still capable only capable of “like”. I have treated boys like they were my man. I have called jokers my king. I have put people first who I am always second to. I have given the world to people who don’t even deserve a city. I have thought the world of people who only thought the world of themselves. I have held people close to my chest that ran over my heart. I would love to blame “people” for doing all of these things to me, but I have to realize that every hurtful thing that I’ve written starts with “I”.

 

-Jessica Jarrell

 

Pick and choose these special people wisely, because other than that the only person who will always have control is you. If somebody gives you love, attention, care, and stability let them in. Everyone deserves to be in your life unless proven otherwise. But the moment they give you a reason not to, double check your standards on what you want in a person. Trust is all depended on none other than you. Letting somebody go, could be just as good. If somebody has damaged the way you learn how to conquer and let trust in, they don’t deserve you. You deserve somebody that will not matter what not damage you or the way you perceive trust. If you think about it in this way, if somebody did this did they actually care about you, or your feelings? No. They did not, and this will just keep diminishing your thoughts on this subject. You see, the only person who can make these decisions is yourself. Everyone else believes it’s the world and people to blame. But you are held responsible for all your thoughts and actions, not them. It’s you that chooses who you spare your time for. You are either giving people the strength to hurt you, or build you. So the next time you are feeling restrained and unsure, think about this.

 

 

 

Chapter 5

Happiness is a journey, not a destination.

 

Happiness is a journey, not a destination. This is one of my favorite sayings. I love this because it explains all the obstacles, in one. This means that sometimes you fall, sometimes we cry, and sometimes we break. We are human, and we all experience this pain. Happiness is not always where are path is heading at times.

 

 

 

In this life we will face heartbreak. We will face dead end roads. We will face money problems. We will face demons. We will not feel like we love ourselves, or where we are heading. All the time we can’t be happy, we have to face our demons. The people in my life that have faced the worst problems, I feel are the happiest people. We have to face bad times, to realize what it truly means to become happy with ourselves and our lives. In fact that is where the popular quote that after rain, comes sunshine. Meaning, in order to get to the better things in life you have to be unhappy at times. Things will never be perfect.

 

 

 

If you are not happy with your life, I want you to remember to never give up. There are people here that love, care, and hope the best for you. I do. Surround yourself with things that bring the best out of you. Set yourself free. Explore. Always remember that there are people that can help you, and that will encourage your goals. Everything in the end heals. Things always turn out to be okay.

 

“Everything heals. Your body heals. Your heart heals. The mind heals. Wounds heal. Your happiness is always going to come back, bad times don’t last.

-Anonymous

 

If you are not happy with yourself, remember its okay not to think you are perfect every day. Because deep down, nobody is. If you have short hair, you are beautiful. If you have long hair, you are beautiful. If you have scars, you are beautiful. If you are short, you’re beautiful. If you are tall, you’re beautiful. Different color hair is amazing. Tattoos and piercings. Dress the way that makes you happy. Express yourself. The most open minded people and expressive people are the ones that end up getting the furthest in life. Love yourself for whatever that may be, and in the end I believe you will reach your destination of happiness. Finally realizing that you are yourself, and nobody can change you is the most wonderful feeling. I want you to remember that whatever way that you see as beautiful, is what you need to be. I want you to look whatever way that you want. I have changed myself due to society’s standards, but then suddenly realized that what really are society’s standards? First it’s skinny and blonde, and then it changes to curvy and dark hair. I have reached the point in where I have realized, there is no such thing as perfect. It’s an image that society wants us to believe is real. So we will purchase there magazines, and watch their movies, and listen to their music. What is the point of striving to look a certain way, when everybody has a different view of what it actually means? Nobody would ever be able to agree on one look. Therefore, that is why we need different people. We need to have different clothes, different weights, and different hair. So whatever puts you on your path of happiness, take that road. This will put you on your journey to happiness.

 

 

 

10 ways to be Happy:

  • Accept the things you cannot change. If you can and want to change them, do it.
  • Let go of the people who are holding you down. If you considered them, you already know who these people are.
  • Blast your favorite upbeat song, and sing at the top of your lungs, dancing as you go.
  • Go for a run. A nice, long run. Run until you feel good; at the very least, you’ll be tired enough that the feelings will deem less major.
  • Call someone you love, just hearing there voice can make your day better.
  • Smile at a stranger. It will make both of you smile.
  • Send an anonymous compliment.
  • Write down everything you don’t like about yourself. Rip it. Burn it.
  • Watch your favorite movies
  • Realize that you are your own biggest critic. People do not see the faults in yourself that you do. So realize that they are not faults, not imperfections. They make you, you.-Anonymous 

 

  1.  
  2.  
  3.  


 

Chapter 6

 

Jealousy will drive you mad.

 

 

 

Jealousy will drive you mad. This quote I noticed from one of my favorite films “Moulin Rouge” my close friends will giggle, thinking of course she picked a quote from that movie. But I think it has much relevance to life. Jealousy is all around us, and even though many people don’t admit it, we have all been jealous. This is because we want to feel more important. We want to feel like we are doing something better then somebody else. Jealously is a very crushing emotion, and also the most frustrustrating. Success, love, lives, and more all come with jealousy.

 

The number one reason humans feel jealousy, is love. I have felt this way before. In relationships with other people, we discover lack of attention and love can lead to jealousy. If your significant other is giving their attention to somebody else, we feel anger, envy. Why do we feel this way? Because we wish that it was us. We always want the feeling that we are being loved, by the person we demand love from. But that isn’t always the case. You will face that relationships, usually come to an end because of this.

 

“Jealousy in romance is like salt in food. A little can enhance the savor, but too much can spoil the pleasure and under circumstances, can be life-threatening.”

 

-Anonymous

 

Jealousy leads to trust issues, and trust issues leads to no trust at all. How do we control jealousy in a relationship? Don’t worry about others in your relationship. If somebody is threatening your relationship in any way, you will know. If your partner wants others attention over yours, they will end the relationship. Usually we create problems in our mind, or start fights that didn’t even need to be started. Just remember the person you are with is with you because they love you and if they didn’t they wouldn’t be there. Trust your partner because jealousy doesn’t have to be a factor in a relationship. Most of the time, we focus on problems that never even existed.

 

 

“Jealousy is a disease, love is a healthy condition. The immature mind often mistakes one for the other, or assumes that the greater the love, the greater the jealously- in fact; they are almost incompatible; one emotion hardly leaves room for the other.”

 

-Robert A. Heinlein

 

 

 

 

The second way we feel jealousy, is from success. No matter what we will always feel this way. We are jealous if somebody else is farther ahead career wise, success wise, or money wise. So I want to warn you, it will always be around. When you are building yourself up, there will be many people that are looking to tear you down. You can either ignore this, or let it slow you down. There will always be negative people looking to steal your success. These people usually have not gotten as far as you, so don’t worry about it. Focus on the ways that you can stop this. When you see somebody that is more successful, makes more money, lives in a better home, have more friends. That is for a reason. They have worked to get where they are, and are not stopping. These are the people that have not slowed down for the negativity. They have not noticed the negativity around them, and worked for what they wanted to achieve in life. Maybe we need more people that think that way. We need to stop spreading negativity with jealousy, but positivity with love. Go up to somebody that is successful in life, and smile and congratulate them. We need more driven people in this world, and jealousy will defiantly not achieve it. Every single one of us deserves to strive in our own way. We all deserve to be successful in the best way that we can. So to all the successful people that didn’t slow down for anybody, I’m proud of you.

 

“Some envy and resent those whom they see as more successful than themselves. They dream of success, and social recognition without hard work, all such attitudes stems from the dire delusion that success can be gained from somewhere favorable outcome of something attempted failing to acknowledge that the achievement of something desired, planned, or attempted is attributed to hard work.”

 

-Dr. Anil Kumar Sinha

 

In all, I want you to remember that jealousy is sprouted from anger, and hatred. Try not to feel this emotion any more. I want you to each and every day say something congratulating, and nice to another person. A stranger is even better. Congratulate on how far we have all come, because sometimes that is all a person needs is recognition of hard work. Do not let the jealousy of others; shape your state of mind. I promise that spreading love, will always make you feel better. After all jealousy will drive you mad.

 

 

 


 

Chapter 7

Don’t you ever grow up

        We all want to grow up. Were desperate to get there to grab all the opportunities that we can..to live. Were so busy trying to get out of that nest, we don’t think about the fact that it’s going to be cold out there…really freakin cold. Because growing up sometimes means leaving people behind. And by the time we stand on our own two feet, were standing alone.

-anonymous

 

Growing up, growing up usually is made out to be this perspective that isn’t good. But what people don’t tell you is it happens to all of us, and it is scary. We are forced to walk out in this big world and expect to know exactly what we are doing. The truth is, I am frightened to grow up. I know that I will stumble, and I will make mistakes, and I’ll have to face growing up. Growing up isn’t just going to just be scary, but it will be confusing. Life is not going to be a white picket fence, and green grass. Even though somedays we feel it can be, the next day our picket fences will be gray and our lawn will be brown. I know each and every one of us deep down, feel the same way. We are afraid of entering this world and messing up. We are afraid that we will not find out true love. We are afraid we will not get the job. We are afraid that we will not be good enough for society’s standards. I’m here to tell you that growing up is going to be horrifying. But right now is the youngest you are ever going to be, and the least wise. Life is all about making mistakes along the way, and learning from them. Growing up is going to lead you to many mistakes that one day you will have mastered. That is why society blinds that growing up is scary, they want you to learn the mistakes that you make for yourself. They want you to stumble; they want you to just pick yourself up after.

“Sitting here thinking, one day I’m not going to go to school tomorrow. One day I’m not going to be able to see my friends every single day anymore.     One day we are going to grow old and forget half the people we spend the first 18 of our lives with. One day some people are going to move far away. One day me and my best friend won’t talk every day like we used to. One day our young loves won’t be around anymore. One day I’m probably never going to speak to some of my closest friends that I had at school. One day life won’t be easy. One day all my favorite bands and musician’s won’t be making music anymore. One day all the things that that made me happy when I was young wont exist anymore. One day my parents won’t be around anymore. One day ill forget all the amazing times I had with my friends. One day I’m going to be too old to do the things I used to love to do. One day life will change. I say I want to grow up so much. One day I’m going to regret wanting to grow up so quickly. One day life won’t be the same.

-Anonymous

You are going to get your heart broken along the way, you are going to experience failing a test, you are going to lose friends, and you are going to get into fights with your parents. You are going to have your first kiss. You’re going to have your last kiss. People in your life, will die. But darling, I want you to remember that growing up does not have to be done a certain way, and these emotions that we feel are just temporary. We are all growing up, and these are all parts of it. We are all designed to make mistakes along the way. I want you to have to face these demons, because in the end this is what is going to make you a stronger and healthier person. I want you to just remember that one day, everything will be okay. Life will be figured out, but I want you to go make memories and mistakes and fall in love. We are always looking forward, and never enjoying what is happening in the moment. We are always too concerned to grow up and do things right, then doing it in the way we intended it to be. This life will never be the way that it is now at this very moment, so I want you to go out and take chances. Grow up and live free. Nobody is going to hold you back. This is one of my favorite quotes I found that describes growing up.

 

“I walked over the hill where we used to go and sled. There were a lot of little kids there. I watched them flying. Doing jumps and having races. And I thought that all those little kids are going to grow up someday. And all those little kids are going to do the things that we do. And they will kiss someone someday. But for now, sledding is enough. I think it would be great if sledding were enough always, but it isn’t.

 

-Stephan Chbosky quoted in “The Perks of being a Wildflower”

 

 

 

I want each and every one of you to no longer be afraid of growing up, because now we know that sad things that lie ahead and determine our destiny’s. We are the youngest version of us that we will ever be, at this very moment. So do not be afraid to fall in love anymore. Do not be afraid to lose the job. Do not be afraid to have a house without a white picket fence, and green grass. Do not be afraid to call up your parents and tell them that you love them. Go out and hug a stranger, go and tell your best friends you love them. Go and walk your school halls and feel grateful for every test you have failed, and every class you have struggles in. Go and tell that girl that you had drama with, that thank you, because you helped me grow up. Thank you for showing me what friends I want in life. Go tell your ex, the same thing while you at it. All these struggles show us the best and truest version that we will ever be. Growing up should not be scary anymore; it should be something we look forward to.

Chapter 8

Dreamers

 

“Dreamers are mocked as impractical. The truth is they are the most practical, as their innovations lead to progress and a better way of life for all of us”

 

-Robin s. Sharma

 

 

 

             I consider myself a dreamer. When I was 5, I dreamed about being a princess. I would try on my dress and plastic heels, and play all day long. Until somebody told me it was “stupid” and “pointless” that I was doing so. Like most little girls I thought when I grew up I could be anything I wanted, I thought nobody would stop me become anything I wanted to be. I was wrong. The bigger the dream you have, the more people are trying to stop it. When I was 7, I dreamed about being a singer. I was fascinated by all the popular people around me that have so much recognition for doing this. So I started singing every chance I could. I sang around the house, I sand in the shower, I sang when I was sad. I was a dreamer. When people found out that I loved this, they made fun of me. When I was 10 years old, I wanted to be an actress. I knew for sure now this is what I wanted to do. I started practicing in the mirror, I tried out for theatre shows, and I learned from my mom, who loved to act. But soon enough, I realized I didn’t want to do that, I listened to what people thought about me. When I was 12, I wanted to be a doctor. I started looking up jobs that I could do, what made the most money, and what the jobs pertained to. Until I was told one day I was not smart enough to be a doctor. Soon I turned 14; I wanted to be a motivational speaker. I thought this was really what I wanted to do now, until it wasn’t. I was told it was going to be too hard to become this. So many thoughts around me told me, why should I even choose, if people won’t agree with I want to do with my life? Soon enough, I turned 15. I felt like this was a big year for me. When I was 15, I wanted to be a counselor. I do not know for sure that this is what I will pursue, but I do know one thing for sure. I didn’t care about what people thought about me anymore. I didn’t care if somebody frowned upon what I wanted to do with my future. I finally realized that what I love doesn’t have to be what everybody else loves. I am me, and I will never change for anyone. When I was 15, I also came up with more things I wanted to do with my life. I want to be a speaker, a writer, a singer, a lover, a friend. I realized there are so many things you can be. I chose these, despite what anybody thought. I love that about myself.

 

“All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake up in the day to find that it was vanity, but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible”

 

-T.E. Lawrence

 

I want all of you, to drop what you’re doing and complete this project I’m going to give you. I want you to grab a piece of paper, anything you can write on. Number it 1-10. If you want more, you can do so. I want you to write down 10 goals or dreams that you have had for yourself, that possibly people have frowned upon. I want you to write them down. Then I want you to make a new sheet of paper. Number it 1-10. Write down 10 goals that you have completed in life. Compare the two. Are there some goals that people frowned upon, but you ended up completing it anyway? Now I want you to scratch the whole two lists, forgetting they even existed. Now I want you to make a new list of goals and dreams you want to complete. I want you to pursue all these, and make them come true. I want you to remember that you are capable of being whatever you want, and that I believe in you. Now I want you to add pictures, or designs, you know to make it more interesting right? Ha-ha. Last, I want you to hang it up somewhere you can see it every single day. I want you to cross of every single goal you accomplish, and when your list is complete, I want you to tell me.

 

 

 

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer, always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world”

 

-Harriet Tubman

 

Dreamers like you, will change the world.

 

 

 

Chapter 9

Wise

 

This is one of the chapters that really hits home to my heart. This chapter was sparked after spending countless moments with my grandparents. My grandparents have been there through the worst and best times growing up. They watched me grow into a young adult, and make sure that I always had a friend when I needed one. They have given me determination and drive. I love them with all my heart, and I think we all need to take a moment to appreciate our elders. I realized that as I was growing into a busy teenager, I never stopped and appreciated all the countless hours they have helped build and create my mind. When I think about them, I always send them a text reminding them to have a good day, and that I appreciate them. They have been through life already, and let me tell you they have some grand stories to tell you. One of the people that inspired me to write this chapter was my Grandpa Bob. He has constantly been there for me. When I need a hug, life advice, or help making a decision. He always made sure to tell me to get good grades, and to never give up on what I want to do in life. He has been there for me ever since I was a little girl. He would constantly take me on countless ice cream trips, and I’m forever thankful for that ha-ha. He would let me drink countless root beer floats. He would take me to the local market, and let me pick out anything there that I wanted. He would always let me just eat the marshmallows out of the lucky charm cereal that was always at his house. He would let me go camping, and laugh at me when I fell off the monkey bars and got two black eyes. (Or at least that’s how I remembered it ending) Of course Isabella tends to be a little over-dramatic.

 

 

 

 

I can’t wait tell he opens up to this chapter and reads this. I bet he will smile. What I want all of you to do, is go tell an elder that you appreciate there presence. I want you to ask them how life was a as kid. I want you to ask them about high school. I want you to ask them about being an adult. I want you to ask them what was there favorite music growing up. I want you to know, that they would do anything to never see you fall or get hurt. I want you to learn as much as you can, before you have to go out there and experience it all by yourself. They really do enjoy having your presence.

 

In all, I want you to make sure that you tell whoever has helped you through all your stages in life, that you love them. The one thing about our elders is we have no idea when it will be our last time with us. We have no idea when are last conversation, will be the last time we will ever see them. I make sure to spend as much time with them, because they never gave up on me. I want to return the favor back to them. As they get older and watch you grow up, it hurts them too. They don’t enjoy getting older, and seeing you grow up. So I want you to always keep in mind, to tell them that you love them. Let them know when there advice has helped you. Let them know when you thought of them. Even though you feel as if they are holding you back, they want you to succeed.

 

 

 

 

Chapter 10

Be the type of person that you want to meet

 

You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us. And the world will live as one.”

 

-John Lennon

 

 

Recently, I have discovered how judgmental other people are being to others. I have noticed that the world is changing around us. We embrace everyone how they are, and we want them to be happy despite race, culture, and sexual orientation. But it is never that easy. We have many people that don’t accept this. We don’t like how the world is changing. But I do. I can’t express how unhappy it is when I see a single race, being targeted for our world’s problems. I can’t express how hurtful it is, to see people hating other people, just because of who they love. I can’t stand the countless problems we have with weapons, stealing, and hatred.

I wish the world could be kind, but it will never be. But we can do something as a whole to change this. After all, we are all the same on the inside, so why can’t we just think about it that way? I want you to learn to accept the world around us. I want you to accept every race, despite what the news is telling you. I want you to except that who people love, will always be who they love. Hating them, is not changing the way they are living there life. They are happy this way. I can’t express how much I love diversity. I want every single one of you to be the same way, and I know some people won’t. But I can’t seem to understand why; it’s so hard for other people to just be compassionate.

As for the people that already have took this information before, thank you. You have made the world a better place.

 

I hope my kids pick up this up and read this someday, and I want them to learn the same way I did. I want them to love and accept everybody around them. I know by then, the world will be changing just like the way it is now. I hope violence won’t be as big as an issue as it is now. I hope fighting won’t be a problem in their school. I want them to learn that being different, isn’t so bad at all. It’s what makes life interesting.

 

I want to touch on a subject that took place last month, the Orlando shooting. This took place in a nightclub in Orlando, Florida. I won’t lie; this is part of why I wanted to touch on this subject. 50 men were shot (not all gay, but somewhere) I was devastated when I saw that on the news. I wondered why we have to be so hateful. Why did we have to solve problems, with a gun? The other side that crossed my mind, is even if the man didn’t support gays, why was he in a nightclub with them? Look, I won’t make you support anything. But I do want you to respect their personal lives. I want to send out love and prayers to all the family’s that were affected by this. I hope they see how nasty one person can be. But I hope this teaches the world a lesson, and helps us come together. This didn’t stop them from becoming who they wanted to be. I love that. So for all of you out there, thank you for being a brave soul and not giving up on the life that was chosen for you. I love each and every one of you with all my heart.

 

My last subject I want to touch on is race. This is a very touchy subject for some people, but hey it’s real and happening. We tend to hate one partial group, for all the problems that happen in the world. But it shouldn’t be that way. How can we judge a whole race as one? It just doesn’t make and since. I have met countless black people that I love. I have met countless Muslims that I love. I have met countless white people that I love. Asians, Mexicans, the list goes on. But yet we tend to blame one whole group for our world’s problems. But they aren’t all the same. All people will never be the same. Bad people are not defined from a race. This is the most important fact I have ever learned.

Therefore, I have learned to get along with every single type of person. I hope this has taught you to be the same way.

 

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.”

 

-Martin Luther King Jr.

 

 

 

 

Chapter 11

Never be complete

 

Well, Now that we covered all that. I hope you know I have put my heart and soul into this book. There is only so much knowledge a 15 year old can comply at the age, right?

 

“When you get just a complete sense of blackness, or void ahead of you, that somehow the future looks an impossible place to be, and the direction you are going seems to have no purpose, there is this word despair, which is a very awful thing to feel”

-Stephan Fry

 

 

After this book was all finished, I bet you all wondered what inquired these stages to be as a strand of lights. This idea was brought to be after I realized that my room always has to have a strand of twinkle lights in the room, above my bed, or decoratively on the wall. Having them there sets this magical, enchanting, and beautiful mood. Sometimes, when a light on them would go out, I realized that it didn’t make it less beautiful, but incomplete. While these would hang in my room, or most of the time draped above my bed, I would think. I would think about all the beautiful stages we go through in life, that didn’t make us less human. Every single night, I would plug them in, and from my wandering mind, I would think. Sometimes for minutes, sometimes for hours. I would grab my notebook and write these ideas down. I suddenly realized that if I had so many ideas I should take it to another extent. I wrote a book. I want to thank these cheap, chinsy, lights that hung above my bed every night. They inspired this. When one of your lights burn out, always remember there is ways to repair it. Love, travel, heal, repeat. Always have room to make you a better person. Make mistakes. Fall in love. Fall out of love. Smile at a stranger. Expand your horizon. Read more. Listen to different music. Find yourself.

I want you all to remember that if these same subjects have crossed your mind, don’t be afraid to share your opinion. I want to all inspire this to share the way you feel, on all these topics and more. I hope to expand this book one day, but for now this is enough. Hang up a strand of twinkle lights, and I hope when you do, it reminds you of this amazing book. Never give up on your dreams.

 

 

Never be complete.

 

 

 

“You need to aim beyond what you are capable of; you must develop a complete disregard for where your abilities end. Try to do things you’re incapable of…if you think you’re incapable of running a company, make that your aim..make your vision of where you want to be a reality. Nothing is impossible.”

 

-Paul Arden

3 thoughts on “Underneath the lights:First book (self-help)

Leave a Reply

